If you counted Saliva out when you heard that they had parted ways with singer Josey Scott, you have been proven dead wrong. The Grammy nominated, platinum selling hard rockers are back and all you have to do is give a listen to the band’s new single: “Rise Up” (out now) and album of the same name (out on 7th July via Rum Bum).

In the early 00’s, Saliva released their seminal Nu-Metal anthems ‘Click Click Boom’ & ‘Your Disease’ from their breakthrough record ‘Every Six Seconds’. Their success continued with the ‘Back In The System’ album with the lead single ‘Always’ topping the modern rock charts at number 1! By the end of the decade the band were still riding high up the rock charts and made it to number 2 with the rock juggernaut ‘Ladies & Gentleman’.

Saliva Logo

With new singer Bobby Amaru firmly in place, it appears as though there is a bright future for the new-look Saliva line-up, which also includes: guitarist Wayne Swinny, bassist Dave Novotny and drummer Paul Crosby.

“We’re lucky to have found him,” says Swinny about his new band mate. “We discovered him through one of our old crew guys. He really energized the rest of us. He’s a great songwriter, and a top-shelf producer in his own right”. With acclaimed producer Bobby Huff (Papa Roach, 3 Doors Down, Tim Finn) on board, all the pieces seem to be in place. And Saliva has delivered with their new single, “Rise Up”. “Rise Up’ …it’s a statement on where we’re at,” adds Swinny. “The title just has that fire to it.”

If you are a longtime Saliva fan, you are sure to be extremely pleased with the full-length ‘Rise Up’ – a bold record full of big hooks, swagger and plenty of guitars. Outside of the ballad “Lost,” it’s first and foremost a rock record. These are songs that kick hard, from the immediacy of the aforementioned “Rise Up,” to the slow build of “Choke” and the rollickin’ “Redneck Freakshow,” a song the band seems particularly proud of.

Saliva has already debuted a number of new songs live, with Amaru seamlessly working his way into the line-up. “The audiences have been great,” says the singer. “I think we have a whole new energy on stage.” Expect to see the band on tour the rest of the year and well into next. “It’s definitely a throwback, fun, party rock show,” adds Swinny. “And Bobby’s putting his own spin on the older material.”

Another piece to the puzzle has been uniting with a new independent label, Rum Bum Records, founded by Luis Bacardi, based in Miami, FL. Led by a team of industry veterans dedicated to finding original talent of all genres, the label offers worldwide distribution, and provides artists with the resources necessary to develop and expand their careers. By utilizing a variety of platforms including imaging, video production, marketing, social media and publicity, Rum Bum Records is able to create versatile portfolios for talent, opening the doors to as many opportunities as possible. Additionally, the label has a full state of the art HD Film studio to successfully build an artist’s image and brand identity into one that is fully recognized and sought after by the public.

There’s certainly a lot of revitalized energy on display throughout ‘Rise Up.’ And despite his late arrival, Amaru thinks he knows why Saliva in 2014 sounds as vital as they were in 2001. “We’ve just gone back to the basics. You know, being a rock band.”


Saliva are: 
Wayne Swinny – guitars, Dave Novotny – bass, 
Paul Crosby – drums & percussion, 
Bobby Amaru – vocals

’Rise Up’

Track Listing – [subject to change]

  1. Rise Up
  2. She Can Sure Hide Crazy
  3. No One But Me
  4. Lost
  5. 1000 Eyes
  6. Redneck Freakshow
  7. Choke
  8. Army
  9. Closer
  10. In It To Win It
  11. The Enemy
  12. I Don’t Want It

Useful Links:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: