GORGUTS’ ‘Obscura’ To Be Made Available On Vinyl For First Time

Canadian label War On Music has announced the long-overdue vinyl release of GORGUTS’ 1998 album, “Obscura”. The groundbreaking record is highly regarded as an unrivalled masterpiece of the death metal genre. When it first was unleashed in 1998, “Obscura” was a drastic but not unexpected departure from the earlier more traditional death metal GORGUTS offerings. Technical, extreme, often odd and discordant but deeply compelling, “Obscura” was an album which appeared difficult at first but commanded repeated listens and unquestioned respect. Over an hour of relentless, punishing, highly evolved compositions bearing no worthy comparison, but fitting in comfortably and confidently among the highest ranks of eastern Canadian metal such as VOIVOD, CRYPTOPSY and KATAKLYSM.

Never before on vinyl, the highly anticipated monstrous onslaught will be released as a double gatefold LP available early spring 2012. Watch for release details and pre-orders at www.waronmusic.com.

Track listing:

Side A

01. Obscura

02. Earthly Love

03. The Carnal State

04. Nostalgia

Side B

05. The Art of Sombre Ecstasy

06. Clouded

Side C

07. Subtle Body

08. Rapturous Grief

09. La Vie Est Prelude… (La Morte Orgasme)

Side D

10. Illuminatus

11. Faceless Ones

12. Sweet Silence

GORGUTS recently reformed with a new lineup including genre heavyweights John Longstreth (drums; DIM MAK, ORIGIN, THE RED CHORD, SKINLESS, POSSESSION, ANGELCORPSE), Colin Marston (bass; DYSRHYTHMIA, BEHOLD… THE ARCTOPUS, BYLA, KRALLICE, INDRICOTHERE) and Kevin Hufnagel (guitar; DYSRHYTHMIA, WHILE HEAVEN WEPT, BYLA, EUCLID STREET, THE FIFTH SEASON, GREY DIVISION BLUE). They are currently putting the finishing touches on their new record, which is expected sometime in early 2012.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: