Malice’s ‘New Breed Of Godz’ album released May 28th on SPV

Legendary American balls-to-the-wall heavy metal power rockers Malice have reformed and signed a worldwide deal with SPV / Steamhammer to release ‘New Breed Of Godz’, the band’s first album since 1989, on May 28th.

Original members Jay Reynolds (guitars), Mick Zane (guitars) and Mark Behn (bass), recruited new singer James Rivera (Helstar) and drummer Pete Holmes (Black’N’Blue) in 2011 to play a series of sold out reunion shows; “We were all amazed at the great crowd response and turn out for the gigs we played in 2011” notes Reynolds.

On a subsequent massive high, Malice hooked up with producer Joe Floyd, who has previously worked with the likes of Bruce Dickinson and Rob Halford, and immersed themselves in the Silver Cloud Studios in Los Angeles to record ‘New Breed Of Godz’.

‘New Breed Of Godz’, containing bang up to date re-recordings of 8 Malice classics, plus 4 brand new songs, will be released in high class digipak format, with a bonus DVD and extensive booklet. The DVD is packed with rare live footage from 1987, 3 live tracks from the Keep It True Festival in Germany in 2011, and a documentary of the making ‘New Breed Of Godz’.

Malice, who formed in 1981, soon created a huge buzz on to the West Coast metal scene, and were the only band to have two songs included on the first legendary ‘Metal Massacre’ sampler in 1982. In November 1982 Malice headlined the Los Angeles Troubadour Club, with Metallica opening the show.

After a record company bidding war, Malice signed to Atlantic Records in 1984 and released their Michael Wagener (Skid Row, Dokken, Kings X) produced debut album ‘In The Beginning’ in 1985 to huge acclaim on the vibrant US and European metal scenes.

Malice’s second album, ‘License To Kill’, produced by Max Norman (Ozzy Osbourne, Megadeth, Ugly Kid Joe, Y&T), was released in 1986 and propelled the band on to US, Canadian and European tours with the likes of Alice Cooper, W.A.S.P. and Slayer.
But after the release of 1989’s ‘Crazy In The Night’ EP, Malice folded, and the band members went their own separate ways.

Now Malice, ‘The Heavy Metal Godz Of Thunder’ are back and can’t wait to rip it up on the road for new fans, let alone long term die hard supporters, in the Autumn of 2012. Jay Reynolds states that “it feels great to have a well-known label like SPV behind us, be in the studio with a veteran line up and have a killer producer…There will no longer be an absence of Malice!”

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: