DOWNFALL OF GAIA launches second song of new album ‘Suffocating In The Swarm Of Cranes’

DOWNFALL OF GAIA have just released the second song from their new album, Suffocating In The Swarm Of Cranes!

Please surf over to our good friends at Metal Hammer Germany who host the online stream exclusively! Click here to listen to Drowning By Wing Beats
Make also sure to surf over to to stream the first single In The Rivers Bleak and check out the front art for Suffocating In The Swarm Of Cranes! There’s also nice packages available including the double gatefold vinyl, a Digi-CD and an exclusive T-Shirt!

Comments DOWNFALL OF GAIA“The concept album “Suffocating In The Swarm Of Cranes” is telling a story about a person who falls victim to his thoughts and becomes consumed by the pressures of the outside world. Suffering from insomnia, the day by day routine and the security that things are completely out of control nowadays, all of this puts so much pressure on him that he is slowly losing his mind. It’s a huge story about a person and the sickness, his state of mind and how his psychological conscience develops. This story is representative for a more and more fast moving time such as today where it’s way too easy to lose control and to get buried by the growing weights on our own backs. Compared to our last releases, we’ve got the most mixed style on the new album and it has a lot of dynamic. It’s more aggressive than the other stuff. It still has influences from sludge, black metal, doom, hardcore or post rock parts. It’s a wide range of music which makes all of us feel really comfortable!”

Suffocating In The Swarm Of Cranes track listing:
1. [vulnus]
2. Drowning By Wing Beats
3. In the Rivers Bleak
4. I Fade Away
5. Beneath The Crown Of Cranes
6. Giving Their Heir to the Masses
7. [asphyxia]

DOWNFALL OF GAIA started out as a crust band, but quickly developed further and have become much more difficult to compare to any other bands. Over the years, their songs became longer, slower, heavier; their influences range from doom to black metal, from down-tempo, to sludge, and hardcore. Their songs have an epic and majestic vibe, with enough musical peaks and valleys to keep listeners rooted firmly to the earth throughout 9:00+ minutes of music.

Since day one, the four-piece has been an active live band, not only performing in Germany, but also throughout the world: Italy, the UK, France, the Netherlands, Scandinavia, Eastern Europe, and the United States have been witness to their live performances. No matter if they are playing a tiny club or a big festival, DOWNFALL OF GAIA are well known for their intense live shows.

“DOWNFALL OF GAIA is the soundtrack to a volcanic eruption! Eerily beautiful like a flow of fiery lava and black ash – an ominous, atmospheric maelstrom of Neurosis and Wolves In The Throne Room.”

“Hailing from Germany, these folks really know how to push the limits of a song and drive it in all emotions and musical dynamics!”

“Downfall of Gaia traverse more harrowing emotion than many bands do in their entire discographies. Both intensely atmospheric and relentlessly hard-hitting, the band takes hardcore fundamentals and pushes them to emotional extremes, flickering between fragility and ferocity”.

Watch out for DOWNFALL OF GAIA‘s new album Suffocating In The Swarm Of Cranes to be released October, 8th via Metal Blade Records in the UK!

Dominik Goncalves dos Reis – vocals/guitars
Peter Wolff – vocals/guitars
Anton Lisovoj – vocals/bass
Johannes Stoltenburg – drums

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: