Praying Mantis reveal new lineup

cuijpersPraying Mantis have revealed their new lineup after firing vocalist Mike Freeland and drummer Gary Mackenzie.

Dutch singer John ‘Jaycee’ Cuijpers will front the band from now on, with countryman Hans in’t Zandt behind the drumkit.

The lineup is rounded out with guitarist Tino Troy, bassist Chris Troy and guitarist Andy Burgess.

The band say in a statement: “John and Hans are seasoned professional musicians, with vast experience of playing alongside bands such as Toto, Vengeance, Jan Akkerman and Steve Lukather, and will bring a extra dimension to the Mantis sound.”

Freeland and Mackenzie each said in separate statements that their departure was not of their own choosing.

The new version of the NWOBHM veterans will appear at the following shows:

Jul 27: Headbangers Open Air, Germany
Aug 2: Colchester The Bull
Aug 3: Ipswich The Railway
Aug 4: Cambridge Rock Festival

-Classic Rock

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: