I must say its been a bumper year for great melodic rock releases, and the debut offering from Scandinavian band CREYE carries this great run on, and is making 2018 one of the best years for a long while.  Formed in 2015 by Swedish guitarist and songwriter Andreas Gullstrand as a classic pop/rock act with a retro AOR sound. With the help of some hired guns, including singer Alexander Strandell, he released a debut single entitled ‘Never Too Late’ in 2016 that made the AOR community sit up and take notice. Recruiting keyboard player Joel Rönning, bassist Gustaf Örsta and drummer Arvid Filipsson on a permanent basis, and with Strandell again on vocal duties, the band recorded and released an EP entitled ’Straight To The Top’, comprising the title track, ‘No Easy Way Out’ (Robert Tepper cover from the soundtrack to ‘Rocky IV’) and ‘Never Too Late’.

Boasting a more mature and evolved sound, the EP was very well received and a dozen labels suddenly displayed an interest in signing the band, with Frontiers Music srl leading the chase and expressing the same vision for the group as Gullstrand. Rhythm guitarist Fredrik Joakimsson subsequently joined the band and, following a nationwide search, Robin Jidhed joined the band as permanent lead vocalist.With all the pieces finally in place, the band entered Peakroom Studios in late 2017 with producer Erik Wiss to record their debut album. Featuring external songwriters such as Ulrick Lönnqvist (Sahara, Code Red and Jim Jidhed), Erik Wiss (Cap Outrun and Gathering Of Kings), Sören Kronqvist (Sunstorm, Find Me and One Desire), Mike Palace (Palace and Kryptonite) and Hal Marabel (Bad Habit, Arena and Mad Invasion)

Opening track ‘Holding On’ kicks off proceedings, and reminds straight away of melodic masters Work Of Art & WET, with its soaring vocals, great harmonies & a catchy Chorus. ‘Nothing to Lose’ with its great keyboard intro could have come straight off ‘The Final Countdown’ era Europe, with Robin Jidhed’s sublime vocals a real highlight. This album just gets better and better, with track after track of quality hook laden melodic rock, with ‘Different State Of Mind’ again with great keyboards, harmonies and quality vocals.’Never Too Late’ is just pure 80s AOR and has touches of AOR Monsters CHINA SKY & WORKFORCE, it really is that good. ‘All We Need Is Faith’ is an outstanding track, and could have featured on the STARSHIP classic ‘Love Among the Cannibals’, it’s just pure radio friendly rock, that would go down a storm on any Rock Radio Station. ‘Miracle’ with its semi acoustic intro is just pure class with its amazing vocals and harmonies, and leans towards the classic JIM JIDHED solo release. Next track offered up is probably my favorite on this amazing album’ Christina’ is just a stunning song and would have sat nicely with some of those SURVIVOR classics in the mid 80s, with its brillant hooks and chorus together with top notch vocals. ‘Straight To The Top’ and the ballad ‘Love Will Never Die’ could have both featured on the ALIEN debut, just mesmerizing tracks, with ‘Still Believe in You’ taking the pace back up again with crunching guitars, and again very reminiscent of one of my favorite Cult AOR bands, WORKFORCE. ‘City Of Lights’ with another great keyboard intro and the excellent ‘Desperately Lovin’ drive the album to the final track ‘A Better Way’, which for me, is no better way to end this album, with its SKAGARACK type intro and great harmonies bringing this brilliant debut offering by CREYE to a close.

This is an absolute monster of a release, and is probably my favorite album of the year so far , it’s an essential purchase for all fans of bands such as WORK OF ART, WET, CHINA SKY & WORKFORCE, and I could not wait to hear some of these tunes played live at ROCKINGHAM 2018, and I was not disappointed. The show featured new vocalist August Rauer along with Joel Selsfors on Keyboard rounding up the new line up. August really did the songs and band proud.


  1. Holding On
  2. Nothing To Lose
  3. Different State Of Mind
  4. Never Too Late
  5. All We Need Is Faith
  6. Miracle
  7. Christina 
  8. Straight To The Top
  9. Love Will Never Die
  10. Still Believe In You
  11. City Lights
  12. Desperately Lovin
  13. A Better Way

Produced By: Erik Wiss At Wiss Music Productions

Band Members (album):

Robin Jidhed – Lead Vocals

Andreas Gullstrand – Lead Guitar

Fredrik Joakimsson – Rhythm Guitar

Gustaf Örsta – Bass

Joel Rönning – Keyboards

Arvid Filipsson – Drums

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: