This is one those album’s I’ve been waiting for all year, PISTON’s Self Titled debut album has been a long time in the making, having binned their first effort they recorded, to ensure they deliver the right product for their ever growing fan base. The result of their trials & tribulations is this ten track self titled album , which will be released on Friday 13th September 2019. The album was recorded at Silk Mill Studios in Newcastle under Lyme and produced by Dan Swift (IGGY POP).

Following an absolutely cracking live set a RAMBLIN MAN FAIR 2019 (live review & pictures to follow), the band take to the road to promote the album, with another truly Great band  COLLATERAL in September, and on the Planet Rock Roadstars tour with HANNAH WICKLUND & THE STEPPIN’ STONES and GORILLA RIOT in October.

The album kicks off with the in your face rocker ‘Dynamite’, which features great guitar work from Jack Edwards & Luke Allatt, and offers a thunderous start. Up next is Current single ‘Rainmaker’ , which is on the Planet Rock playlist, its a real gem of track that’s about never staying in one place & always keeping moving forward to strive to feel free.

The swaggering ‘Go Now’, my favourite track on the album, is an absolute belter of a tune, with vocalist Rob Angelico sounding like a hybrid of Lenny Kravitz & Ron Young from 80s Rockers LITTLE CAESAR, and its focus is on following our heart on the journey of life. Its just track after track of quality hard rock, with ‘Carry Us Home’ featuring amazing vocals with a real melodic edge,  its all about our relationships, with everything and everyone.

I can hear so many influences with this band, especially early AC/DC, and on ‘One More Day’, its about learning to trust in the natural progression of life, and the sleazy riffs are reminicent of that excellent early JETBOY debut release.

The glorious anthem ‘Beyond Repair’, that features the top notch rhythm section of bassist Stuart Egan & drummer Brad Newlands, really drive’s this album through to the mean and moody  ‘Leave If You Dare’, which rock giants STONE SOUR would be proud of, and is about the anger that feel sometimes in relationships. ‘Blow It Away’ is another catchy hook laden tune, featuring some real standout vocals that tells us not to take life to seriously and hope that tomorrow brings better things.

‘Let Us Rise’ has a real DEEP PURPLE Stormbringer era feel to it with its 70s style guitars that leads us to final track, ‘Into The Night’ which is about being understanding and patient with ourselves and others, and is a fitting tune to bring this truly great debut release to a close, with Bonus remixes of ‘One More Day’ and ‘Rainmaker’ included.

To sum up this band deserve to be HUGE, with this EXCELLENT debut album receiving rave reviews & their BRILLIANT live performance at RAMBLIN MAN FAIR 2019, I hope they go all the way, making this an essential purchase.

Piston Line Up:
Vocals: Rob Angelico
Guitars: Jack Edwards
Guitars: Luke Allatt
Bass: Stuart Egan
Drums: Brad Newlands

Eponymous Debut Album Released Friday 13th September. Available for Pre-Order from www.pistonuk.com


FInd out more at:

Web: https://www.pistonuk.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/PistonUK

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/PistonMusic

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/PistonMusic

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/PistonBand

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/artist/piston/595541815

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: