CHEVELLE: ‘Hats Off To The Bull’ Track Listing, Artwork Revealed

Chicago alternative hard rock trio CHEVELLE will release it sixth album, “Hats Off To The Bull”, on December 6 via Epic Records.

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. Face To The Floor

02. Same Old Trip

03. Ruse

04. The Meddler

05. Piata

06. Envy

07. Hats Off To The Bull

08. Arise

09. Revenge

10. Prima Donna

11. Clones

The album’s first single, “Face To The Floor”, with its hypnotic, grinding riff, is one of the most explosive songs of the band’s career. The track which rails against the corporate corruption of Bernie Madoff and Wall Street debuted at #2 on the iTunes Rock Singles chart the week of release.

“It’s an angry song,” revealed lead singer Pete Loeffler. “The lyrics are about all the people who have been taken advantage of. I reference Bernie Madoff and his Ponzi scheme. He raked people over the coals, stole and is a terrible person. One day, these people have everything, and the next day it’s completely gone.”

CHEVELLE will celebrate the release of “Hats Off To The Bull” with an appearance Thursday, December 8 on ABC’s “Jimmy Kimmel Live!”

This past summer, CHEVELLE hunkered down in a Los Angeles studio with producer Joe Barresi (QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE, COHEED AND CAMBRIA). During the sessions, nothing was off limits, and boundaries were non-existent. Rather than simply subscribing to a tried-and-true formula, they made a conscious effort to incorporate new sounds and textures into their patented airtight anthems. As a result, “Hats Off To The Bull” is one of the group’s most infectious and impressive offerings to date.

“We’re a melodic hard rock band, but we wanted to expand on what that means. It’s really important to be aware of what you’ve done already,” said drummer and Pete’s brother Sam Loeffler. “We never want to write the same song twice. Pete writes 300 days a year. Joe encouraged us to try different instruments and techniques and he pushed us to continually play everything until it was right too. There are so many nuances as a result.” Those nuances come through loud and clear as a talk box echoes through the hard-hitting title track, reverb adds schizophrenic vitality to “The Meddler”, and an organ colors the acoustic “Won’t Be Left Out” with ethereal flourishes.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: