ZZ Top album wait ends next month

The nine-year wait for a new ZZ Top album ends next month with La Futura is released, the Texan three-piece have announced.

They’ve set September 11 as launch day for La Futura, their 15th studio disc and the follow-up to 2003′s Mescalero.

Guitarist Billy Gibbons says: “We thought long and hard about what this album should be. We wanted to recall the directness of our early stuff, but not turn our backs on contemporary technology.

“The result of this melding of the past and the present is La Futura.”

ZZ Top revealed the hip-hop roots of lead track I Gotsta Get Paid to Classic Rock in June, and exclusively launched the song on our website. The full story of the album’s creation appears in the August edition of the magazine.

They release a digital EP called Texicali containing the albums’ first four tracks last month. A fifth song, Flyin’ High, was played in unfinished form on a Soyuz spacecraft at the request of US astronaut Mike Fossum.

Gibbons previously said producer Rick Rubin was partly responsible for the album’s long delay, explaining: “The band is wondering, ‘Where is this thing?’”

La Futura tracklisting:
1. I Gotsta Get Paid
2. Chartreuse
3. Consumption
4. Over You
5. Heartache in Blue
6. I Dont Wanna Lose Lose You
7. Flyin High
8. Its Too Easy Manana
9. Big Shiny Nine
10. Have a Little Mercy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: