Daylight Robbery – “Cross Your Heart”

Formed in September of 2010, Daylight Robbery have since shared the bill with legends It-Bites, toured  with Uriah Heep and released their debut album ‘Cross Your Heart….’. The album has been available for download since 14/11/11 and was released on 16/01/12 on CD through their own label ‘Solar Flare’. Without doubt you can hear the guys influences – that much loved sound of the early to mid/late 80s or early 90s (yeah, get me – how specific am I?) but the band never sound dated or retro. They blend those influences with a heaviness that takes Daylight Robbery to a place beyond a nostalgia act.

The first two tracks, “Cross Your Heart” and “Shame On You” provide a superb introduction to both band and album. Hard rocking anthems that focus on on melody and the chorus. Both songs showcase Tony Nicholl’s vocal range to perfection. I’ve always felt that great melodic rock bands make great use of keyboards and Daylight Robbery are no exception – especially on “Crossing the Great Divide”, a power ballad of epic proportions.

In fact the melody/chorus combination works throughout the record with Tony’s powerful vocals blending to perfection with Mark Carleton’s guitar. “1,000 Points of Light” provides an almost Maiden-like blast of power-metal – yet still the melody and harmonies are there for all to hear. Proof, if any were needed, that Daylight Robbery are that rarity for British rock – a band who can be more than a one trick pony. Oh yeah, they also manage to create that magic combination for melodic rock bands – fellas will love them too! Melodic Rock…it’s not just for girls!

10 tracks that make your spirits rise – catch the boys live at a venue near you soon. Including their appearance at The Railway Music Venue, Bolton (Friday 6th September) co-promoted with Rock-Zone UK.

‘CROSS YOUR HEART….’ is available for download from all of the leading download sites. The cd can be purchased online through their website or online through PLAY.COM CODE7MUSIC.COM & AMAZON.COM

Daylight Robbery are:
Tony Nicholl (vocals)
Mark Carleton (Guitar)
Colin Murdoch (bass)
Ben Dixon( drums)

For more information:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: