SOTO – “Inside the Vertigo”

Jeff Scott Soto – one of today’s premier Rock frontmen and vocalists – and a union of hotshot young musicians bring you a slamming blend of melody and muscle in some of the freshest power metal to surface in years present. Together they are SOTO, and their debut album “Inside The Vertigo” will blow your mind away. The album is going to be released January 30th, 2015 on earMUSIC. A brilliant blend of power metal, prog, groove-laden huge guitars, hooks and production, SOTO is a contender in today’s modern Rock arena while capturing the essence of strong songwriting simultaneously.

Jeff explains, ”I’ve been in the game for a long time but my roots started more on the heavier side of the tracks, I thought it was about time I came home to visit the family and stick around for a while!”.

The band is comprised of Jeff’s most current solo band, who he insisted on making this musical merge with him. Jorge Salan (lead guitar), BJ (keys, guitars), David Z (bass) and Edu Cominato (drums). Soto adds,”These guys come from different parts of the world and bring their own influence to make this band very special. From the US to Europe to South America, we have an exciting mix of style and prestige that keeps us all on our toes”.

Jeff adds, ”The past 5 or more years have propelled me a plethora of anger and frustration, I’m actually quite pissed off about a lot of things, SOTO is my outlet to release some of this pent up emotion. We realize there are a lot of folks young and old who may be sharing these thoughts so this is especially for them too. We’re not reinventing the wheel here, we’re just creating an outlet for where our hearts are both musically and mentally…I’m just not in a ‘touch your golden hair’ mood right now!”.

Songs like “Break”, “The Fall”, “Wrath”, “Narcissistically Yours” and “Final Say” are perfect vehicles of raw emotion. Songs like “When I’m Older”, “Karma’s Kiss”, to the title track “Inside The Vertigo” and the 9+ minute epic “End Of Days” advocate a modern day reality/wake-up call.


Produced by Jeff Scott Soto, the album features tracks co-written with his bandmates as well as a of his famous friends/colleagues. Collaborators include guitarists Gus G (Firewind, Ozzy), Jason Bieler (Saigon Kick), Mike Orlando (Adrenaline Mob) and Joel Hoekstra (Night Ranger/TSO), all of whom perform on their penned tracks for the album. Others appearing as guests/co-writers are Casey Grillo (Kamelot), Connor Engstrom, Tony Dickinson, Leo Mancini, Hugo Mariutti and Gary Schutt.

The album was recorded during the latter months of 2013 and mixed/mastered in Boston by Soto’s long time engineer and friend John Ellis. ”Everyone from John to my amazing co-writers to some of my bandmates, especially Edu who was extremely instrumental on helping me stay on course musically, get overall credit for creating this album. I oversaw it as a whole knowing the vision I wanted to capture but I truly had a lot of help from my bros that appear on this masterpiece!” exclaims Soto.

“Ah yes,” you cry, “but is it any good?” Good? It is, without question, one of the first albums I have heard in a LONG time that has completely blown my mind on the first listen – and then gone on to improve with EVERY listen. I’ll be honest, I’m not sure about Prog. but what JSS and the boys have done here is show  those fellas in Theory of a Shine(y) Nickel Bridge how to produce a record that is both heavy AND melodic, that screams equally of joy and pain and really does showcase why Jeff Scott Soto can really lay claim to being the ultimate rock vocalist around. Of course, his more AOR fanatical fans might be initially surprised (shocked?) at the heaviness … but, seriously, trust me on this one. You would need to be seriously blinkered not to see (hear?) the genius on offer here.

The release date of the album intentionally coincided with the birth date of JSS’s fallen colleague and dear friend Marcel Jacob of Talisman. A fitting tribute to his friend and musical brother. R.I.P. Marcel.

Watch out for SOTO to follow up the release of “Inside The Vertigo” with extensive touring and appearances throughout 2015.

SOTO Inside the Vertigo

Track listing
1. Final Say
2. The Fall
3. Wrath
4. Break
5. Narcissistically Yours
6. End of Days
7. Inside The Vertigo
8. When I’m Older
9. Trance
10. Jealousy
11. Karma’s Kiss
12. Fall To Pieces

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: