This is one my most anticipated album releases of the year so far, as Scandinavian Melodic Monsters, TREAT, probably my most favourite Scandi band of all time, release their new opus ‘TUNGUSKA’ to the masses. The bands previous release ‘Ghost of Graceland’ had its moments, but for me wasnt in the same class as the masterful ‘Coup De Grace’, which I was hopeful the new release would lean towards.

‘Tunguska’ kicks off with the melodic anthem ‘Progenitors’, its soaring vocals & layered harmonies get the album off to a great start. Up next is a sure-fire classic in the making ‘Always Have, Always Will’ is classic signature ‘Treat’ with its amazing vocals from the extremely talented Robert Ernlund (this guys sounds as good as he did way back on 80s masterpiece ‘Scratch & Bite’). ‘Best of Enemies’ isnt an instant winner for me, and favours some of downwind tunes featured on ‘Ghost Of Graceland’, I think this one will be a grower . ‘Rose Of Jericho’ is a cracking tune and takes me back to the 80s era  ‘The Pleasure Principle’ , before we are treated to my favorite track on the album ‘Heartmath City’ which for me is as good as anything on ‘Coup De Grace’, it’s an absolute stonker, and I so wish this tune could be transported back to 1987 era MTV, as it would have been a surefire billboard Top 10 hit for the band.

‘Creeps’ which is another downwind tune and the melodic excellence of ‘Build the Love’ drive this album through to the challenging and modern sounding ‘Man Overboard’ which is a great song, but needs a couple of spins to really appreciate it. The last four on ‘Tunguska’ are just stunning, ‘Riptide’ with its soaring vocals & harmonies, the monster ballad Tomorrow Never Comes’, the rifftastic ‘All Bets Are Off’, which reminds me of several tunes on my favourite TREAT album ‘Dreamhunter’ from 1987, with final track ‘Undefeated’ bringing this new offering to a close.

‘Tunguska’ is simply a stunning album, and its a real testament to TREAT, that they keep delivering quality albums like this over 30 years after their debut release. ‘Tunguska’ will definitely feature in my Top 3 albums of 2018 and is an essential purchase for all fans of quality, hook laden, melodic rock.

But what is “Tunguska”? “The album title is a reference to a mysterious large explosion that took place in Siberia in 1908, but metaphorically and artistically, “Tunguska” represents the last piece of the puzzle to be put in place since the band’s reunion,” says guitarist, producer and founding member Anders Wikstrom. ”It highlights the unique musicianship we have developed together over the years in the creative songwriting process, but also illustrates how we want our albums to sound and feel in the 21st century. We managed to dig deeper into the lyrical content, and musically, the dynamics in the songs and production are more distinct as we let heavy, raunchy stuff co-exist with the softer side of the band.”

”Tunguska” was once again produced by respected writer/producer, and longtime TREAT fan, Peter Mansson together with Anders Wikström, showcasing a band who, despite a thirty plus year career, are hungrier and more energetic than ever!

TREAT’s current lineup includes Robert Ernlund (vocals), Anders Wikström (Guitars and backing vocals), Patrick Appelgren (keyboards, guitar and backing vocals), Jamie Borger (drums), and bass player Pontus Egberg (King Diamond). ”My goal has always been to capture the band in the studio when we can reflect what we are like at a live performance peak. That´s why we did not continue touring for another extended period on the back of the last album (“Ghost of Graceland”) and went into the new album writing and recording process instead,” tells Anders. ”When our fans hear ”Tunguska”, this decision will speak for itself. When I listen to it, I get the same feeling I had when we finished ”Organized Crime” back in ´89, when everybody had stepped up to the plate and played as if their lives depended on it. I truly believe this is Treat’s finest hour! And that goes for every single member of the band! Damn proud!”


Current Scheduled Dates Below w/ More To Be Announced:

15 Sep – Indoor Summer 2018 Festival – Hamburg, DE

4 Oct – Shibuya Club Quatro – Tokyo, JP

5 Oct – Nagoya Club Quatro – Nagoya, JP

6 Oct – Umeda Club Quatro – Osaka, JP

1 Nov – Oefenbunker – Laandgraaf, NL

2 Nov – Biebob – Vosselar, BE

3 Nov – Kubana – Siegburg, DE

5 Nov – Matrix – Bochum, DE

6 Nov – Der Cult – Nürnberg, DE

8 Nov – 7er Club – Mannheim, DE

9 Nov – Hall Of Fame – Wetzikon, CH

10 Nov – Riffelhof – Burgrieden, DE

16 Nov – Frimis Salonger – Örebro, SE

17 Nov – Katalin – Uppsala, SE

23 Nov – Sticky Fingers – Göteborg, SE

24 Nov – Palatset – Linköping, SE

”Tunguska” tracklisting:

  1. Progenitors
  2. Always Have, Always Will
  3. Best Of Enemies
  4. Rose Of Jericho
  5. Heartmath City
  6. Creeps
  7. Build The Love
  8. Man Overboard
  9. Riptide
  10. TomorrowNever Comes
  11. All Bets Are Off
  12. Undefeated


– Robert Ernlund – lead vocals

– Anders Wikström – lead guitars and background vocals

– Patrick Appelgren – keyboards, guitars and background vocals

– Pontus Egberg – bass guitar

– Jamie Borger – drums

Produced by Peter Mansson and Anders Wikström

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: